Windows 10

Reinstall Windows 10 Without Deleting Your Software, Files or Settings

Windows 10

We recently older AN installation of Windows 10 with system files that were corrupt to the purpose that bound sections of the Settings app would mechanically shut once be opened, among different bugs around the platform.
After attempting typical repair choices, we have a tendency to used a Windows ten ISO to perform AN in-place upgrade, reinstalling Windows ten whereas keeping our applications and everyone.
If this sounds acquainted, we’ve got lined the same method victimization Windows 10’s inbuilt “Reset this PC” possibility, however that removes your programs and solely retains your files and settings on the freshly put in software, whereas once more, the in-place upgrade even preserves the software system you’ve got put in.

Running AN in-place upgrade worked to mend our instance of Windows ten that could not preferably be repaired with prompt commands like SFC /scan now and DISM /Online /Cleanup-Image /RestoreHealth – neither of which might end their operation on our installation.
The reinstallation is initiated from among Windows victimization the setup.exe file on a Windows ten ISO/USB drive or from the Media Creation Tool, and therefore the method took around 0.5 AN hour to end on our desktop computer.

Since even your applications are preserved on the ensuing installation, if all goes as planned you will not get to do abundant after and it’s a path of less resistance compared to totally reinstalling Windows.
Getting started with AN in-place upgrade
For starters, the in-place upgrade is not a possibility if you cannot boot into your installation. should|you want to|you need to} be logged in to a Windows account which account must have administrator access. If you are not AN admin, you’ll be prompted for credentials once launching the installer.
To check if you’ve got an admin account, a search begins for “change account type” or head to management Panel\User Accounts\User Accounts\Manage Accounts\Change AN Account\Change Account sort wherever all of the accounts on your Windows installation ought to be listed and people with admin-level access can say “Administrator.”
Double-click your account then click “Change the account type” for the choice to travel from a regular user to AN Administrator.

You can additionally notice this info by looking begin for Netplwiz.exe. therewith application open, choose your account and head to Properties then the cluster Membership tab for the quality user/Administrator toggle.
If you are unable to form your account AN administrator, note that the Windows administrator account is disabled by default and might be enabled from AN elevated Command Prompt:
net user administrator /active: yes | allows administrator account (relog)
net user | lists all Windows accounts together with the administrator account

As another demand for the in-place upgrade, your Windows ISO/USB drive/Creation Tool should contain constant edition of your software (or newer), furthermore because of the same language and design (32/64-bit).

You’ll additionally want some spare storage on the Windows drive — around 8GB once we tested.
Conveniently, this step within the installation can assist you with storage info, displaying capability usage for various areas of your software, and you’ll additionally opt for a secondary/external device from a computer menu of each drive connected to your computer.

Although you will keep all of your files and software systems, the reinstallation can delete bound things like custom fonts, system icons, and Wi-Fi credentials. However, as a part of the method, the setup also will produce a Windows. an old folder that ought to have everything from your previous installation.
If you’ve got a UEFI system with Secure Boot enabled, it’s recommended that you simply disable Secure Boot before beginning the in-place upgrade then re-enable the feature after.
Beginning the in-place upgrade
Start the Windows setup (setup.exe) by mounting the ISO or gap the Windows USB installation drive from the File person.
Windows ten has native support for mounting ISOs by right-clicking and selecting Mount or by victimization the subsequent PowerShell command (our installation was thus broken that the right-click possibility wasn’t on the market to us):
Mount-DiskImage -ImagePath “C:\FileName.ISO”

After launching setup.exe or the Media Creation Tool, you will have the selection to upgrade currently or to make AN installation ISO/USB drive — you would like to Upgrade this computer currently. you may be prompted to transfer updates before this feature is on the market.

The installer can perform some initial setup/scans and eventually raise what you would like to stay on the new copy of Windows.
If you plan to stay your presently put in software system on the repaired software, make certain that “apps” are listed and not solely “files” (Keep personal files and apps).

The rest of the in-place upgrade amounts to waiting a few 0.5 AN hour for Windows to put in, that rebooted our system many times and did not need any longer intervention from the United States of America.
When completed, you will load into constant Windows setting wherever you originally started the “upgrade,” except with freshly put in software files that ought to be bug-free.


After finishing the in-place upgrade
As mentioned before, though this reinstallation retains your software system and settings, the method creates a Windows. old folder with information from your previous copy of Windows. This folder occupies an oversized quantity of storage and is not simply deleted directly from File person, although you’ll browse the contents at C:\Windows.old.
Disk Cleanup will delete the Windows. old folder furthermore as different temporary installation files employed in the setup: Search the beginning menu for Disk Cleanup then click “Clean up system files” to run a second scan that may find Windows junk files.
When we scanned when the in-place upgrade, Disk Cleanup found three.61GB of “Previous Windows installation(s)” and 225MB of “Windows upgrade log files.”

If you are very low on cupboard space, we’ve found that a third-party software system like Wise Disk Cleaner can take away additional information than Disk Cleanup, which specific tool even removed quite CCleaner.
Other than deleting excess Windows information, you’ll likely get to relog into your Wi-Fi network and you will get to install some Windows updates if you did not use the foremost recent Windows ISO. However, that has to be compelled to be concerning the extent of your chores when the in-place upgrade/repair installation.

Post a Comment

%d bloggers like this: